Rest days

mfv3

Cathlete
I'm really bad at taking rest days. I'm curious if anyone else is. If not, how many do you take a week?

I take one because im tryn to lose but i was doing one or two depending on how i felt, and how life goes, sometimes tjings happen and unplanned rest days happen i dont like that.

I try to take one once a week or at the very least, every 8-10 days. I don't always want to but I force myself because in the end, I know I'm better off. If I work out too many days in a row my body lets me know. :(

Sometimes instead of taking a complete rest day I will just do yoga.

i take saturdays off as before i started working out with cathe, i have been practicing ashtanga yoga for several years, and you are taught in that system to practice asanas 6 days a week with saturdays off. i guess that has stuck with my cathe workouts, too, and i think it's a good thing. now that i am in my forties, i notice that i don't bounce back from injuries like i used to, so i think it is good to rest. that being said, i am more careful with what i eat on saturdays:)

I always rest at least one day a week. When my body feels especially tired I up that to 2 rest days a week.

I workout 5-6 days a week. I always schedule 1 rest day, and it is usually Sundays since I am usually busy with church and family activities that day. I will take an additional day if I feel like I need it.

I used to hate taking rest days (I would feel lazy or guilty), but I just feel so much better when I have them. Now I am a big advocate for rest days! We get stronger when we give our bodies rest, because that's when it repairs and rebuilds itself. Plus, it's a good time to do a stretching DVD or some relaxing yoga that you wouldn't otherwise have time for.

Good luck figuring out what works for you!