Standing legs vs floor legs

spyrosmom

Cathlete
I can squat, lunge, plyo, and all that jazz til the cows come home, with heavy weights. However, eight reps into any floor work with no or just 2lb ankle weights and I'm begging for mercy. Barre work, too. What gives? What am I missing here, besides that I obviously need to do more floor work. Why the discrepancy and am I the only one?

Thanks!

Nan

I can squat, lunge, plyo, and all that jazz til the cows come home, with heavy weights. However, eight reps into any floor work with no or just 2lb ankle weights and I'm begging for mercy. Barre work, too. What gives? What am I missing here, besides that I obviously need to do more floor work. Why the discrepancy and am I the only one?

Thanks!

Nan

You are not the only one! I'm fairly new to Cathe (discovered her 6-7 months ago) and have been doing a lot of her workouts for the first time: Pure Strength Legs, Butts and Guts and this morning, Gym Style Legs. I can power through the standing exercises, with heavy weight even, but once the floor work starts, I have repeated muscle failure. I don't get it either. I thought my lower body was stronger than that!

Your body isn't used to these types of exercises so they pose more of a challenge. Even though lifting heavier weights is challenging you, this is different they what your body is used too. Plus, often times training with heavier weights, you rely so much on larger muscle groups that they dominate the smaller muscle groups. Barre and floor work challenge these smaller muscles directly. This is why its so good to do both types of lower body work.

I could have written your exact post. Barre/floor work has me swearing and crying like a little baby.