Am I just getting old?

cdanko

Hi Cathe -I've been working out steadily for the past 30 years (a little bit of everything-hi/lo, step, spin, running, weight training, etc.) Lately though, been feeling out of sorts for lack of a better term - decreased energy , and a poochy belly which is the real kicker.
When I went for my yearly, doc suggested cutting back a bit (cortisol/stress maybe contributing for how I am feeling). Anybody else feeling this. I am 48 years old and feeling frustrated. I LOVE to workout - have my own gym and everything :). Have not drastically changed anything. Just looking for some suggestions. Thanks all.

Hi:

The fact that you are getting a poochy belly, coupled with your age, tells me that perimenopause has come calling! You are not alone. I am there too. Not so much with the belly, but with trouble with my nails, my hair, my eyes going severely dry and my moods changing... what can you do? Aging happens, but I am not surrendering to it. Never!

So, I fight back with as much sleep as I can get, less junk food and the right exercise.

You should first of all consider if you get enough sleep. When I get enough and more sleep, I lose the puffiness. And I feel incredible! When I am short changed for sleep, I retain a little more fat (stomach, hips).

I actually exercise less frequently now than I did in my thirties. I work out 3 times per week, sometimes 4 if the weather is good and I powerwalk an additional day. But I always go hard, intense, and I make my time work for me, usually for 2 hours each workout. My personality demands it, I don't know any other way. But here's the thing: because I go hard, on the days when I don't work out, I never think about it. I used to get irritable and stressed on days I wasn't working out but I no longer do because the proof is in the pudding. I don't need to. I am in great health. I am not overweight. I'm in great shape and I am currently getting happier than I have been for the last 10 years.