What does everyone do for work?

dss62467

Cathlete
Last night I was reading a post from Sandra (aka Fiddlefit). It was in response to a poster who was asking advice about weight loss and calories burned. Sandra's post was very well written and interesting, and then I saw within it that she is an author.

That made me curious as to what everyone else does. I titled this post "What does everyone do for work?" instead of "career" because stay-at-home moms definitely DO do "work" and didn't want anyone to think I was disrespecting their choice. I think it's a great choice, if it's the right one for you.

I am an HRIS Manager (Human Resources Information Systems) for a non-profit agency which provides services to developmentally disabled adults and children and their families, and affordable housing to low-income elderly. I spend most of my day doing computer work, building queries to write reports on our employment, maintaining our HR/Payroll system and other stuff that's kind of boring. But sometimes someone asks me for a report that really challenges me and makes me glad I still can do algebra and logic! I also do HR investigations when our employees start acting badly. I've got one starting tomorrow that involves racial harrassment.