Strengthening Abs: Need Advice

MKEMom

Cathlete
I've been doing Cathe's workouts for about 8 months, though not consistently until the last two months or so. I've noticed that I'm gaining muscle very easily in my limbs. This is interesting because my limbs are the first place I gain fat, and the last place I lose it. I'm looking forward to seeing some nice definition when the fat layer melts away. However, I'm not noticing any strength gains in my abs. Cathe's ab routines are very difficult for me, so I have to modify a lot. I have the most trouble with anything involving holding my legs just a few inches off the ground while lying on my back (like I said, I'm heavy-limbed). For example, I can't do banana holds or split-leg crunches. I either just lift one leg at a time or leave them on the ground.

Well, weeks into this, I thought I'd be able to stop modifying for a few things, or that ab routines in general would get a bit easier. Any advice for strengthening that area beyond what I'm doing? Am I just being impatient? I try to work abs about twice a week. Should I be working them more often?

Thanks,
Sam

I work abs about 5 days a week. That's what works for me. I get much better results in strength, endurance and definition that way.

You don't have to do what I do but I would definitely work them a minimum of 3x per week though.

HTH. :)

I work abs about 5 days a week. That's what works for me. I get much better results in strength, endurance and definition that way.

You don't have to do what I do but I would definitely work them a minimum of 3x per week though.

I was afraid of that :p

Make sure you listen to that woman (Wendy)! Cause, where I'm from, we call her the AB NAZI!!!! :p :eek: The girl knows abs ;)

I was afraid of that :p