I've heard of plateaus but geez...

putz168

Cathlete
I have been doing Cathe's workouts for nearly two years and yet I am only lifting maybe three pounds more on military presses (I'm talking maybe 12 pounds with grunts) than when I first started, and forget regular pushups. Everything other muscle group/exercise is progressing nicely, and cardio is fantastic. Why don't I gain any strength in this areas?? Oh, and I just learned Cathe is only 5'2" and my age, so my old excuses just don't hold any more. Crud to that I say.

You jump start me every morning, and I thank you for the gift of health!

Beth L.

Beth,
Hey, don't get down! I think shoulders, as Cathe said in one workout, are very hard to do. I do mostly 12's of military press. Try doing just a few 15 lb. reps if you can. If not, then don't sweat it. Sounds like your overall fitness has been doing well. Push-ups - again, do a few regular, or just do them modified. As long as you are being challenged doing them, give yourself a pat on the back!

LOL - I too am 5'2, 45 yrs. Every time I think if I will be able to sustain this, I just look at Cathe! I especially find the August Cathe calendar picture very inspiring - she's sweating like crazy. It makes me feel better that she's sweating it out with us.

FYI, I beat myself up mentally all the time about working out!

:D In fact, I haven't worked out in a few days because of sleeping problems. I feel guilty, but I can't workout unless I feel up to it.
I say to myself: get over it!

Keep plugging!

Well I've been working out for years and am pretty fit but I CANNOT do more than 10 'real' push ups without screaming profanities and falling flat on my face. On the bright side a few years back I couldn't even do 1 push up.