Do You LOVE Your Job?

dogs2birds

Cathlete
So I'm just curious. How many people LOVE what they do? As I'm getting ready to go back to work after 2 weeks off I was wondering how many people really love what they do. I always hear the percentage is very low. I work at a college running a non-credit program and am very THANKFUL to have the job I do but would certainly not say I LOVE my job by any means. If I was independently wealthy, I'd quit tomorrow. :)

So who LOVES what they do and what is it? How did you choose it? If you have kids (I don't), how do you help steer them in a direction to be successful AND happy? It seems the focus is on going to college to make a lot of money and be successful. But I don't really hear so much talk about choosing something you will truly love or something you're passionate about because you'll have to do it for many, many years. Maybe things have changed since I was in school (I graduated in 1980 and actually my mom never talked about college so the fact that I made it through college and grad school at all was a biggie I suppose :) ).

Suz

"Until one has loved an animal, a part of one's soul remains unawakened." - Anatole France

http://www.picturetrail.com/dogs2birds

Well, I absolutely love being a writer, and the happiest I have been, work-wise, was when I was writing for television. That was a blast, getting paid well to do what I had already been doing for free. I chose it because 1) it chose me :) and 2) it's the only thing I've ever been good at and 3) I love it.

The tough parts are the times, like now, when I am doing 100 percent freelance/spec.

Sparrow

My garden is filled with papayas and mangos
My life is a mixture of reggaes and tangos
Taste for the good life, I can live it no other way
- Jimmy Buffett