The Having Kids Debate

I need some input on this. Some background info. I'm 37 and my hubby's 47. We've been married almost 6 years. I've never really wanted to have kids and he could go either way. Some days I think it would be cool, especially since my husband would make such a great father. I, on the other hand, don't think I have that nurturing quality. Funny because I'm a teacher (high school). I love kids, but just not babies. They freak me out and I don't think they are cute at all.

So, this weekend we're having dinner w/someone who has a 18 month old boy. This kid was yelling, throwing food, knocking over glasses.... I made the comment to my husband that that didn't look fun at all (being a mom to a baby). He said "Yeah, I know. You hate kids." Well, then I felt horrible, as if something is wrong with me. My husband has expressed a slight interest in having kids ever since his mom died a year ago. My comment was that we better decide bec my eggs are dying and we are old!

I'm not really sure what my question is. Maybe is there something wrong with me for not liking babies? Do you just know when you are supp to have kids? Should someone who doesn't really like babies but would like them when they are 5 even have kids? Why do I feel so selfish because I want my life to be more than talking about crawling, sippy cups, and toys? It seemed as if this lady only wanted to talk about her baby and have all of us go on and on about how cute he was???