Wrists hurt while doing push-ups

kblvr

Cathlete
Usually I put a rolled up towel under the heel of my palm to raise my wrists a little, which seems to help. I'm new to Cathe and starting to do the new LIS series. The pushups are so fast (ie mount climbers into pushups) or we are traveling doing push ups that the towel idea doesn't work. Is there something I can do to make my wrists stronger so they don't hurt while doing these exercises? Sometimes I have to stop the exercise early because it hurts. Thank you!

I read somewhere that weak wrists are a sign of weak forearms. To work forearms, you need to do more push-ups and bicep work (silly I know, how can you do that without your wrists hurting?). You can purchase special push-up bars and also I heard holding onto weights while in plank positions minimize the pain (for me that never worked, but give it a try). Personally, the more plank related exercises I do, the less my wrists feel discomfort. Just keep on trying! Hope that helps :)

Natasha

Last edited:
Go to a sporting goods store or even Target/WalMart, etc. There is an item called the Perfect Pushup. They work by keeping your wrists straight and should help this problem. Additionally, don't try to keep pace with Cathe - she's freakishly strong. Do the pushups at the pace you can manage comfortably. As you and your wrists get stronger, you can increase the pace. For some of her faster sequences, I probably only do two-thirds of what Cathe does. Do what works for your own body.

I had this problem and it alarmed me....However, I wanted to do push-ups so what I did was I put my 5# weights under each of my hands and that alleviated the discomfort. Then after a while, I was able to work up to doing them without the weights.

Putting the weights under the ball of my hand and the fingers underneath the bar part was very helpful.