What gets you to move when you think you just can't do it today?

morningstar

Cathlete
When you are feeling sick, tired, emotional, hormonal, at the end of your tether, discouraged, what do you do to get past it and pick up the weights, or get on the step, or start kickboxing the @#%@#% out of things? What motivates you to get moving on days when you just don't want to get out of bed?

And when you just can't do it, just can't make it happen today, are you understanding of yourself, or do you feel guilty? Do you kick yourself when you're down, or treat yourself gently, like you would your friend or child?

P.S. Cathe, if you are reading this, I would love to hear your response to this too.

For me, its my patients. I'm a physical therapy student and i'm currently interning in a spinal cord injury unit. Training a patient to learn to use their body without their legs is very gratifying. It takes all of their strength to learn how to sit up in bed or transfer from their bed to their wheelchair. The amount of strength needed to learn how to do this idependently is enormous. So when i'm not feeling like working out or i'm having a crappy day and just want to curl up on the couch and eat cookie dough, i think of my patients and what they are going through and how they cannot/donnot have the choice wether they feel like using their legs that day or not.

I remember how I felt when I didn't do it at all, I remember the feeling I get from a kick a$$ workout, and I want to keep what I have accomplished, because getting here was so hard 4 years ago.....so I put on some great music, get on the step, or kickbox, or treadmill, and I always feel better in the end.

If I can't, I understand myself, and it's OK...that's what a rest day is all about...and if I want to take one, so be it. But, gentle? No...I usually want, and do take it up a notch the next day.

What motivates you to get moving on days when you just don't want to get out of bed?