push ups

melmeadows

Cathlete
Hello,

I am new to the Cathe workouts (since December) and I love them! I haven't felt this excited about working out in a long time. I have a question. Does anyone have a suggestion on how to build up strength/endurance with push ups? I can only do about 10 then have to go to knees. I have been doing the 4ds for 2 months now and can't seem to improve.

Hello,

I am new to the Cathe workouts (since December) and I love them! I haven't felt this excited about working out in a long time. I have a question. Does anyone have a suggestion on how to build up strength/endurance with push ups? I can only do about 10 then have to go to knees. I have been doing the 4ds for 2 months now and can't seem to improve.

Thanks for asking the question Melanie. I have the same problem and it's very frustrating. I wonder if it's a problem with form or just not enough strength?

Maggie

Thanks for asking the question Melanie. I have the same problem and it's very frustrating. I wonder if it's a problem with form or just not enough strength?

Maggie

Hi, Melanie and Maggie! Yes, there are tons of good strategies for increasing your push-up counts, and many threads here on the Ask Cathe and Open Discussion forums give great suggestions.

I'm too much of a technological bonehead to try to post e-links to the related threads, but if you do an Advanced Search with the key word "push ups" or "push-ups" (then limiting the search further to "subject only") you should come up with many useable suggestions.

HTH -

A-Jock

Oops, sorry for the repeat question. I didn't think about doing a search for a related topic. I am not tech savvy. Thank you for the help! I found some good tips that I'll give a try.

Melanie

I do them big girl style, against the stairs, dropping my hands one step each time I do a new set. You have to be careful not to whop your head against the step above you, but I'm getting stronger I think!