poor vo2 max

gloryb2god

Hi,

I am overweight and have been my whole life. I have been working out five times a week for over 15 years with Cathe (and others) although I do have to modify some of the moves. I've recently discovered that I'm a shallow breather. When the instructor says "deep breath in" I'm done after four to five seconds and they just keep inhaling. When I'm doing aerobics like Rhythmic Step I try to focus on my breathing and find that my lung capacity is just not there. It takes me a few breaths to feel like I've really filled up my lungs and emptied them. I think not being able to breathe all the way is making the workouts more difficult for me. Is this possible? What can I do to fix this or is it just some genetic factor about me like being 5 feet tall?

Thanks for the help.

Lisa

Hi, Don't second guess your lung capacity or have someone second guess it for you. If you have any concerns schedule an appointment with your doctor. He/she can measure it easily in the office and check out anything else that might be getting in the way of a peak exercise performance. Some breathing problems can be improved. :)

Just keep in mind....

that if you are speaking of the "blow test" that they commonly use in doctor's offices, that test is pretty useless. My doctor told me that if you have smaller lungs comparably, then you will not register good number on that test. Also, it seems to be very dependent on how you blow into it and how your mouth is placed over the pipe. I barely pass that test yet there aren't too many people who wanna challenge me to an all out cardio pukefest.
If you are just a shallow breather and it's not affecting your exercising then don't worry about it. I shallow breathe and it actually saves me energy in muscle movements I believe.
If you are concerned about VO2 Max, then get it tested. The blow test is not VO2 max....
Trevor :)

RE: Just keep in mind....

Hi, glory2god!