Obsessed with exercise

hortyhoos

Wondered if anyone has friends or family who think they are obsessed with exercise?? I've had several people tell me that they believe I take it a bit too far in the fact that I feel the need to do it 6 days a week. I've been exercising regularly for about 12 years after a weight loss of 60 lbs. and have kept the weight off every since. I admit I get frustrated when something keeps me from it, but I enjoy it so much and it has definitely helped with the weight.

I feel a bit alone on this, my husband doesn't understand. He thinks I'm too thin now but I think I look good and I feel great. When I was heavy, someone in my family (and I won't say who) said I looked like a beached dolphin in my bathing suit. I think it's funny now, but not at the time. Just no pleasing some people.

Any thoughts??

Karen

Karen,

I get that too. I find it such a strange phenomena - the use of the word "obsessed" in relation to regular exercise. BTW, I am assuming here that you mean "regular" and not several hours a day for those 6 days.

I too have had people tell me I'm too thin or I'm obsessed, but DH thinks I look great and like you I am happy w/how I look. Of course I live in rural Arkansas where biscuits w/sausage gravy is the breakfast of champions, so naturally I am considered a little different.

I'm certainly no psychologist, but there seems to be some kind of defense mechanism that kicks in for some people regarding others fitness success. They are not sure how to relate to you as this fit person, you've "changed".

And lastly, if we're obsessive, does that mean the couch potatoes that sit in front of their TV nightly for 2-3 hours are "obsessed" with TV?

Sorry for the rambling, but this one hits home with me. Oh and apologies to the biscuit eaters, nothing personal.

Kim