How "old" is "old"?

fitdeb

Cathlete
This is a question I have been pondering of late.

Google says that if you are 65 or older you are considered elderly. I am 65 and there is no time-zone, planet or even a dimension in which I would consider that I am ELDERLY!

I have been working out for 40 years exactly (got a Jane Fonda VHS Tape for my 25th birthday) and I found Cathe's MegaStep workout in the early '90s.

For those of you who are "elderly" how do you all feel about it? I know Cathe will be 60 this July and her new series about "Active Aging" is kinda freaking me out!

How old would you be if you didn't know how old you were?" - Satchel Paige

Love your question! Well, I’m pushing the big 70 and I guess I am elderly….some days
I feel less elderly than I am, sometimes a lot more! :). But it is what it is and I am learning to adapt & modify, because of age & other issues that arise from time to time. I guess I have been a workout-holic for 50 yrs +. We can just do what we can do and do it the best we can. Keep moving, if at all possible! :)

My grandmother was born in 1896. She worked the farm until she was 77 years old. She died at 101.
I think some aspects of aging are genetic, and some reflect lifestyle. But I don't think you gain insights into yourselves or others by knowing a number. We had a local fire fighter who retired at 92. It's certainly not the norm. A friend of my grandmother was swimming in the local lake at 95. So many people aren't working at being healthy, and wonder why they have problems. Bodies age, but a healthy lifestyle plays a role in quality of life. Cathe's new series may help address aging issues, like flexibility and balance. I have less flexibility that I did in my 30's, but I can address that. I didn't do yoga in my 30's. That doesn't mean I put away my heavy weights.