Exerciers with physical health challenges new check in

cendrine

Cathlete
Hi all,

I have not done a check In In quite some time. I was looking at all the check ins to see which one would be a good fit for me, and it suddenly popped in my head that maybe I could start one myself.

I have been working out with Cathe for over 10 years now. Over the years I have had some physical challenges thrown in. I herniated my L4/L5 disk about four years ago, am dealing with chronic bicep tendinitis and am going through a heavy metal detox to get rid of mercury poisoning. I am also dealing with crazy food Intolerances that make it tough to eat well at times.

I am determined through it all, however to do the best I can to stay in shape. I have not allowed my limitations to cause me to throw in the fitness towel all together. I have had to become creative about how to modify workouts, I am one of those people who can't complete any rotation as is because so many things need to be tweaked. But I'm working out, and keeping fit. A few weeks ago I was hiking and biking with several friends who are not facing the challenges I have and I was thrilled to find out that I was able to handle the demands of the hikes and bike rides better than everyone else! That is enough encouragement right there for me to keep going on even if it is hard sometimes.

So, if you are pushing through challenges yourself and find yourself modifying but not giving up, maybe you can join me here? I think it would be great to support each other on our journey to stay fit while pursuing healing and preventing further injury!

Today's workout was sts plyo strength week two with a foam roller stretch for my IT band afterwards. I can't do the rock climbers and the squat thrust jumps of this workout, but I just do another plyo instead. The half turn jumps and the scissors kill my quads every time!

I hope you join the journey!