Do you ever take a week off exercising??

Clarissa

Cathlete
Hey! I am thinking of taking a week off from exercising as I am feeling so tight and tense lately. I feel worn and overtrained. Is it good to take a whole week off? Have any of you done this recently? It is going to be mentally challenging for me to say the least...I have never done this before for more than probably 2 days straight. SHould I still do yoga, walking, pilates though?? Any thoughts? Have a great week! :)
Clarissa

Heck, when I was diagnosed with cancer in 2005, I took a whole ten months off - LOL!

I still rode my horse though.

But yes, I have taken a week off - and done no more than walking and stretching/easy yoga for a week.

Susan L.G.

sorry to jump on this chat but i have decided this is going to be my rest week and i'm SCARED! I haven't had one since last december. I've been unmotivated and tired lately. Plus my throat is feeling a little scratchy so i think i'm getting ill. i'm always so afraid to take time off b/c i'm afraid i'll gain weight or loose my muscle. Do any of you have tricks on how to stick with your rest week? I usually start by takeing 2 days off but them i'm up and running again b/c my mind says workout. help me through this week

Kariev,

I'm in the same boat - feeling unmotivated and just tired/slightly sick. My in-laws are visiting this Wednsday so I'm going to *try* and get a few workouts in before they come. While they're here, I'm considering that my rest week. But to answer your question, during rest weeks I'll schedule some walks (maybe 2 or 3) and maybe go to the gym and do some light cardio for a half hour or something. I don't stop exercising altogether but I do take the intensity down A LOT. All in all, I'll try to limit my light workouts to 3 during that week. I also take a break from weight lifting completely during that week. This is just how I do it though. :)

HTH
Carolyn

Hey Kariev,