working out + time management

Farah636

Cathlete
This feels like one of the most basic, fundamental things that I imagine any advanced exerciser (or certainly any Cathe enthusiast!) has down....and even though I've been a more or less regular exerciser for years, I realized that I'm no longer there...and I was wondering what you all do to build/stick to a routine, and how much time you allot for yourselves for working out.

My biggest problem is finding time to get all the exercise in. I started graduate school a few years ago, and that's really when the problem started. Before that, I was a fitness instructor at the student rec center, and since I didn't have a heavy course load, I had time to teach a TON of classes, and thus got my workouts in whenever I taught -- 10-15 hrs/week. Then I started working on my M.A., and taught fewer fitness classes. And now I've started my Ph.D. at a new university, and have a new rec center, where of course I do not teach anything. I miss getting my workouts in while on the job...it was nice!! But now I have to make my own time for exercise, and I have to admit it's rather difficult. It seems if I'm not teaching, I'm not as motivated. Plus with my courses and TA job, I just don't have the time/energy for the 2 hr workouts I used to do...and it's frustrating because I used to have time to do *everything* -- cardio, weights, pilates, yoga -- I did them all regularly and LOVED it. Now I feel like it's just the bare minimum -- minimal cardio, minimal weights. Working out is admittedly not as enjoyable for me as it used to be, and I'm not quite sure how to get out of this funk!

So far I've thought to try some of the classes at my rec center, and I'm also in the process of renewing my pilates cert so I can maybe apply to teach sometime/somewhere. But yeah. Thoughts? Suggestions? Aaaah, I NEED to be happily obsessed with working out again!