Where do I start?????

MissyB

I'm just beginning an exercise program. Well, actually, I'm just beginning ANOTHER exercise program. I have worked out off and on over the past 3 years or so, but have not worked out consistently in the past 6 months. I'm very active and athletic, so I would not categorize myself as a beginner as far as exercise goes. However, I'm not really sure where exactly to start in order to obtain the best results I can as quickly as I can (I'm not expecting a miracle and I know to only lose 1-2 lbs per week, but I'm sure some programs are simply more efficient than others!) After reading many of the questions and answers from all of you, I figured I might as well ask a truly "Educated Crowd" for advice. I purchased the Pure Strength series and for the past 3 weeks I have been doing the Strong Legs & Abs Mondays & Fridays. I have combined the two upper body tapes and do that on Tuesdays and Thursdays. On Wednesdays I do a Firm tape (Volume 1). My theory is since muscle burns more fat, if I start lifting weights and building muscle, I would obviously burn more fat and see results much sooner (and be all the more motivated, of course!). I read some of the other messages saying to do so many different workouts each week, but I just don't know how anybody can fit that all in! I can barely find time for 5 60 minute workouts each week! Once the weather gets nicer, I will also walk after work (I do a 4 mile walk in 45 minutes 3 days per week). I also have heard different theories on the amount of weight I should lift and am wondering what the truth is: (1) heavy weights/less reps to bulk up and light weights/more reps to tone or (2) heavy weights all the way since a very, very small percentage of women build muscle like a bodybuilder does. Any advice and comments you could offer would be greatly appreciated!!

where do I start???