What do you use for recovery?

Travisli

Cathlete
I was in the running store on Saturday looking for an armband to carry my ipod and the little girl behind the counter introduced me to Gu Energy Gel. I bougt a couple different flavors but have not used them yet.

Truthfully, I'm pretty new to running, (August 2009), but I had no idea on longer runs I might need to refuel with something like Gu.

My son and I had just completed a 14 mile bike ride when I bought the Gu so he tried one and promptly spit it out proclaiming it to be "really nasty." So my question is what do use to refuel when you do distance training, either running or on a bike?

I ran 5 miles on Sunday in a little under an hour, but I never felt the need to refuel -- the sales girl assured me I would know when I "bonked" (??? I'm getting too old) and would be happy I had the Gu.

Thoughts? Suggestions?

I've tried different snacks for distance running, and what works best for me is a few dates. They're like magic! Jelly beans work well, too, but obviously they're not as healthy.

I usually don't eat anything mid-workout unless I'm running (or hiking) for longer than an hour. If it's about an hour long (or less,) I wait until I get home to eat.

What has been least effective for me is anything with protein in it, like nuts, Lara bars or other protein bars. Mid-workout, the body just wants carbs.

Hope this helps!

Brendan Brazier has recipes for recovery drinks, gels and powerbars in his book Thrive (they are vegan though). I have tried some of his recipes for longer runs and I think they are pretty good. Larabars always work for me.

My recovery drink of choice is coconutwater with lime juice and a dash of cayenne pepper. Sounds kind of odd but tastes really good.

Any run or bikeride under 60 to 90 min. I don't bother eating anything, I just drink water.