Rest weeks

allwildgirl

Cathlete
I am on a rest week right now. I've never done this before, but am doing it at the urging of a friend who tells me that it will make me feel so much better and my workouts will be more effective when I start back up again.

I hate it. I feel purposeless. I am snarky and bitchy and I'm eating everything in sight.

Does anyone else do this and do okay with it? Is it going to make a difference that's big enough to offset the misery of not working out? Sorry, I'm not being dramatic, but my workouts are what keep me sane.

Any input would be welcome!

I hear ya. I've never done a full week off, but I have done 3-5 days off. I guess I feel like I should take a week to recover, but then the exact same thing happens as you just mentioned, and I get back to it.

Shelly, I myself have never made it through a rest week. Like you, I get very despondent, sluggish and my appetite gets both depressed and weird.

I've let go of the notion that I need a rest week. If I need to take things lighter in terms of intensity and/or duration I'll do that, but I can only stay sane by staying on my normal weekly sked.

BTW, that's where being skilled at a lot of different water training formats comes in very, very handy - there's nothing like a good aqua week to take the load off the joints while still getting in some good cardio and muscle endurance / flexibility.

A-Jock

Well, I'm glad I'm not the only one who doesn't enjoy the whole concept! I think I'll try one more day and then do some working out on the weekend.

Thanks for the input!

Hi Shelley-

Good for you for taking off a week... I took my very first entire week off in about 3 years this past fall.