Question for Cathe about just getting started

RN240EMTP

Hi Cathe, I just started watching FitTV and just purchased two of your videos but have not done them yet. I guess I'm just not sure what ones are going to be best for me and what my goals are.

I am 39 years old, and I am a nurse and a firefighter/paramedic. I want to BUILD and STRENGTHEN my upper body due to the heavy lifting I do as a firefighter. So I want strong chest, abs, shoulders, etc. and want to build as much muscle as I can.

As for my abs, I want trim/strong/tight and I want to build and strengthen my legs.

Right now, I've been lifting weights at home using a home gym and free weights. I also do a Firm video as a workout. So at this point, I have a fair amount of muscle, but I feel like I'm ready to really start turning it up a notch. I still have some flab around the middle section top burn and tone so that would be my "bad area" if I had to pick one.

I purchased "Chest/Tricpes/Shoulders" and "Power Hour" on ebay to get started with.

What type of routine do you think I should start with in order to not get too burned out or work too hard too fast? I generally have 3-4 days a week off with my schedule to work out. The days I work are 13-14 hour days so I am too tired to do anythign after I get home. I guess I just dont know how many times per week to do videos, how many times to lift and do free weights, etc.

Any help you could send my way I would really appreciate..

P.S. I am also challenging the guys at the firehouse to join me working out with your videos! :)

Hi and nice to meet you. Your job sounds very rewarding yet stressful too. With all of your heavy lifting I would like to suggest that you also strengthen your back and biceps,as these muscle groups will be key players in the lifting process.