Question about barbells and weights used

kathydaffy

Cathlete
Hi!

First off, I apologize for having to ask these questions but I'm pretty new to Cathe (4 months) and just bought a barbell because a lot of the DVDs of hers use one and I wanted to make sure I was getting the most benefit.

My problem is that my barbell weighs 14 pounds and I can't begin to gauge what Cathe and the group are using in a lot of the workouts, especially High Reps and Lift it Hiit it. It looks like their barbells weight a LOT less then 14 pounds! I can adjust since my boyfriend has plates of differing weights but I would appreciate ANY advice or help.

I'll be starting STS mesocycle 1 once I have a full month available and would greatly welcome suggestions! Thank you from a new Cathe fan, albeit one that is a bit clueless! :)

We've used several different types of barbells through the years, but they usually weigh around 4 to 5 lbs.

Last edited:
I must have the same type barbell as you Daffy because mine weighs 15#. I suggest doing the one rep max to determine the weight you can lift. I never did the one rep max and just put on weight I could lift until I felt it was too much or I couldn't lift it, pretty much listening to my body.

I must have the same type barbell as you Daffy because mine weighs 15#. I suggest doing the one rep max to determine the weight you can lift. I never did the one rep max and just put on weight I could lift until I felt it was too much or I couldn't lift it, pretty much listening to my body.

LOL @ Daffy! The barbell I bought was a CAP and yeah it's a bit heavy... not much weight is needed to find my 1 rep max! I wish I had something lighter for High Reps, though. I can use the barbell for the lower body but have to use dumbbells for the upper part. I'm doing the same thing as you for everything else. :)