new student and finding time to work out

dixiedog6

Cathlete
I am a nursing student (third week in) and I am finding it so hard to get in workout time. I was wondering if there were any other students or folks out there who just work 12 hour shifts. I would love some advice on how you fit the workouts in. I leave home a 630 am and return at 630pm. TIA

Probably not the response you're looking for... but I'm gonna be starting as a student in two weeks. I won't be working twelve hour shifts, but I fear the same thing! One thing you COULD do.. which may not appeal or even work, is to split up a workout: do half an hour in the am, and halff an hour in the pm. The only thing is you'll be absolutely shattered!

Sorry, you probably already knew that! :) I hope you work it out :)

I may be wrong, but I think Morning Star recently said she works 12 hour shifts; I know she still works out... it might be worth asking her :) If i'm wrong though.. sorry :S

try to get in 10-15 mins when you can. maybe a walk on lunch break. maybe a few exercises before you go to bed. sometimes you'll be so exhasted. laying in bed i do crunches and in same position, lifting the glutes.
sleep is super important you'll be tired for sure. try to pack your meals. you could make it on the weekend and have it ready to go. packing healthy foods to give long lasting energy will help so much, and avoid packing on pounds from fast food. using a crock pot would be really useful, and recipe zaar has meals you could freeze for later. you could do that once a month on the weekend. even if its as simple as a salad ready to go, it will help when you're too tired to make anything.
also, relieving stress will be really important. yoga, cardio, w/e floats your boat.
congrats on being accepted into the program! and dont forget great shoes w/support. hope that helps.