nastiness on the internet

workingToBeFit

Cathlete
Does anyone else sometimes feel like there is so much mean stuff on the internet they just don't want to look at it anymore? I love this forum, and please know right away, I am not talking about this forum! But, I got really flamed in a very nasty way on a different forum today, in a really unfair and mean fashion, and I am just feeling crummy about it. I try hard to always write friendly and respectful posts everywhere, and while I know I must fail at that sometimes, I always, always try to be NICE. I also am really shocked by the things people will write about other people to supposedly "evaluate" them - i.e. web sites with reviews of doctors and so on. I am not a doctor but I have relatives and friends who are, and I am in a profession where I do see internet "evaluations" for myself and the friends who are people I work with - ugh, very nasty stuff. Right now I just feel like giving up on the whole on line discussion situation.

Sorry to hear you've had a bad experience online and people haven't been nice. There is a lot of nastiness online and I think people feel that they can say anything because they are hidden away behind their computer screen.

However I feel that there is a lot of good online and on this site there are some wonderful ladies who are passionate about fitness and are happy to share with others their fitness ideas and advice.

Hi Ann! I'm sorry you had such a bad experience. Sadly it goes on everywhere and I do agree that I think some people are especially rude when they know they are not "seen".

As for our forums, we work hard to keep our forums free of flame wars and disrespectful comments but if you ever witness something that doesn't sit well with you, please bring it to our attention (through customer service) and we'll look into it.

Hope you have a better day!

Ann I am sorry that you are feeling crummy and I hope things lighten up for you soon.

Saundra