Internet security - what products???

Marie1120

Cathlete
We have McAfee internet security products on our PC now but they will expire and want $150 to renew. Should we renew or buy something new? All you computer techies - what product or products would you recommend for a couple that are technically challenged?

Please help! Thanks.

I have had Trend Micro PC Cillin for many years and love it. Their tech support is great, and it basically runs by itself. I think I purchased it initially from Amazon and renew every year for about $25.

HTH

We used to have McAfee...we now have Norton and like it better. I'm no techie so I can't get into any detail but we just feel it's a better product. I just recently renewed the subscription on it and it only cost about $30.00 for the year. I think when it was first installed that included a year's subscription. I'm not sure what the software runs but I'm pretty sure it's no more than $100!

We use Panda Plantinum. I think we got it originally from Staples for around $70 or so, but we just got a second one from website (of course, I can't remember the name right now) for $20. I think Panda was a Consumer Reports recommendation.

It'll most likely be divided between Norton and McAfee. I had Norton System Works and I liked it but on an old PC it was a resource hog. I have a new PC that came with McAfee and I have the suite for 3 years. I like it fine, I also have a firewall thru my router and I feel pretty secured!

There are a few free programs I have heard recommended including the other ones mentioned. AVG is a GOOD free Anti-Virus program and Zone Alarm is a GOOD free firewall...I am using AVG on my older PC and I like it alot. Easy to use. The site is http://www.grisoft.com/doc/1 Zone Alarm is http://www.zonealarmdirect.com/co/zonelabs/01/default_lp2.asp?sid=M2AG0002dGS

and now I don't think it is free, thought it was...hope this helps...:)

My rec's (been doing computers of one form or another since 1970)