How do you do it????

Dear Cathe,

I know you are busy and currently on vacation but I feel compelled to write you. I would love to pick your brain for a while.

I am new to teaching aerobics and learning everything by trial and error, lots of research and asking questions wherever and whenever I can. Oh, I cannot forget practice, practice, practice.

It is coming along but I just think you are absolutely amazing. Your videos are the best hands down. You have everything, intensity, great instruction, a huge fun factor and awesome choreography. Question - how do you do it? What kind of materials do you use for research or back when you were learning? Do you have any pointers so that I can constantly improve myself and become better and better? I do not expect to become anywhere near your caliber but I want to give the people that take my class the best I can.

My husband thinks I obsess and spend too much time on it but how can you not. There is so much to learn, its overwhelming.

Any pointers?? I would love to hear any guidance you can give me. I am also in NJ although more central and have hopes of visiting you very soon!

Thank you for any help you can provide. Hope your having a great vacation! Thanks Cheryl :) :) :) :) :)

Hi, Cheryl! I'm not Cathe, obviously, but I've been a group fitness instructor for over 6 years now (water aerobics, natch, given my screen name), and I just wanted to give you a bit of encouragement myself.

I too am in awe of Cathe's creativity, and I think I can tell you that the skill and creativity come with practice practice practice and instruction instruction instruction. The hubbies of the world scratch their heads when they see their spouses "obsess" about instruction, especially newer instructors, but it takes a bit of obsession to get the Instructor Brain and walk into each class with confidence, knowing the class is just gonna roll out of you.