Do I need a new step?

daisyduke

Hello, I'm new to Cathe videos, but I'm an advanced exerciser. I do have the Transfirmer. Do I need to buy the step that Cathe has, or can I just use the Transfirmer? Thanks!

While some people have used the Transfirmer for other, non-Firm, workouts, I wouldn't recommend it, especially for workouts like Cathe's where there is more impact. The plastic is harder and has less 'give' than that of the original club step, and could lead to joint and/or overuse problems, IMO.

And though I haven't seen any warning on the Transfirmer itself saying not to jump on it (like there is on the Fanny Lifer, which seems to be made of the same plastic), it definitely wasn't made for impact moves (and I'm too lazy to go searching my Transfirmer to see if there is a warning label).

The Step Co. step is also nicer to use as a bench, because it is longer. The length also adds to the intensity of the moves. And you can vary the height of the step anywhere from 4" to 12" or more, depending on how many risers you use (higher for step-ups and as a bench, NOT to step on).

I have read others say that you can use the Transfirmer for the BSS3 workouts, and I have not found them to be so low impact. I would defnitely be careful about jumping on the Transfirmer, as I don't think it is study enough. I love it a a piece of equipment, though.

Hi, I have the Reebok step and the transfirmer. I was using the transfirmer but the step is smaller and I flipped it up a couple of times. Now I am back to using my Reebok Step. This step is adjustable for up to 10 inches. The transfirmer is great to create the 14inches for leg presses. The Reebok step I got at Dicks Sporting Goods. I think it cost about 60.00. Its very sturdy and worth the money.

Jenn

Hey Daisy!

I used the Transfirmer with my Cathe workouts for about 8 months before getting the Reebok Step and High Step for Christmas.

I wanted to spend my $$ on workouts, not the step! :D