Desperate for help .....

StepChic

Hopefully it's ok to post about this here ...

I'm a long time Cathe-ite and member of this forum. For the reasons of embarrasment .. I created a new profile just to post this :-(

I have been battling anorexia for three years .. I've tried a couple of different counselors and nutritionists, which have proven to be useless. I don't think it's a case of me fighting recovery .. but rather an inability to find qualified professionals that I think can actually help me.

I am 5'6" and reached an all time low this morning of 91lbs. I'm still working out .. because my mind will just not allow me to stop (although I have brought down the frequency and duration of my workouts considerably).

For anyone that has had anorexia and overcome it .. how do you get BEYOND the evil thoughts in your mind that told you not to eat when you should? I've upped my calories to roughly 1100 .. but going beyond that seems so frightening. I know my BMR is 1370 because I had it tested .. so one would think I could eat that without feeling guilty .. but I just can't seem to get myself to do it! I keep asking myself .. "Do you want to be happy, or do you want to be anorexic" .. and the answer is always for happiness, so why do I feel powerless to beat this?? I feel so lost and so helpless about how to fix this. I do plan on trying to find yet another therapist .. but any words or advice on what has helped others would be so hugely appreciated! I know I can't keep going like this .. I just don't know what to do to make it end!

Oh, Stepchic, I am so sorry to hear of your hardship. I dealt with anorexia in highschool, but it did not get very severe (lowest weight was 96 or 98, I think) My mind changed itself gradually, and I am grateful that it did. I still suffer from thoughts that "I shouldn't have eaten that" or things like that, but I force myself to say back, its ok, I have to EAT to LIVE. I say it even when I don't believe it.