Calf fatigue during lunges

I have a problem with my calves hurting on the leg extended behind me while doing lunges. I could go on with the entire workout as far as strength goes or fatigue in my quads.

This has always been a problem for me and I'm not sure what I am doing wrong. I can do calf raises with no pain. I am new to your videos and am currently doing Power Hour and Rythmic Step. I can't believe I didn't find you sooner! I'm a gym rat and they are no longer doing advanced step, so I am thrilled to find your videos.

I know I am strong enough to do these lunges, so any advice would be great!!

Connie G.

2young2beOLD

My calves also ache while doing static lunges and I don't have a clue why. There are days I can get through an entire workout without this happening, but then there are times (especially when I increase my weight) that my calves ache worse then the leg that is working. My calves have always been strong and very defined so I have no idea why I have problems doing static lunges sometimes. If anyone has an answer to this one, I would be interested in knowing what is causing this.
Debbie in OH

I have the same problem! When I do static lunges especially, I find that I am using strength not only in my thighs, but that my feet and calves have to work especially hard to help me keep my balance. It's no wonder my calves hurt. I try to make sure my weight is in my heels to keep from having that "slipping forward" feeling, especially on those horrible one legged lunges with your back leg on the step }( , but once again - my calves get a workout too. Maybe that has something to do with it?

And know I'm strong enough to do these exercises too!

Interested in hearing the answer to this one!

Susan G.