"?" Balancing - stretching, cardio and weight lifting?

likes2bfit

Cathlete
I have been doing rotations with Cathe workouts for several years. My results have been GREAT. The IS series has been really effective for me!

My concern is that I don't stretch enough. I am usually stiff in my hamstrings and sometimes my adductosr and abductors. This stiffness is more than it has been in past years.

Would it help to add in a full body stretch workout 2 days per week? How many cardio days and lifting days should I put in to maintain my currant level of stamina and body size? Should the lifting days be endurance or strength-gain type?

I recentyl purchased a full body stretch workout in hopes that it might help. But, I don't want to loose the fitness gains I have worked so hard to achieve.

sport23.gif

Judy

RE:

I forgot to mention that I play doulbes tennis twice per week too. Maybe that make a difference in adding to stiffness?
sport23.gif

Judy

RE:

Have you tried or are you interested in trying yoga? There are many benefits to doing yoga, but the main reason I do it is because it has and continues to improve my flexibility big time - much more so than athletic stretching. Some weeks it's hard to include a full yoga workout in my routine but I almost always add 15 min or so to my Cathe workouts. (I skip her stretch sections.)

As far as how many cardio/lifting days per week you need to maintain your current fitness level, I am no expert, but I've always heard 2 days of lifting for each body part is sufficient, maybe even one if it's strictly for maintenance. Whether endurance- or strength-type lifting, that depends on your goals. Both are important for overall fitness, so if your goal is to maintain fitness in both areas, you should probably do both types of lifting. And of course, everyone is different and what works for one person may not for another.