Sciatica anyone

cher54

Cathlete
For the last three or four months, I've been having a pain in my left leg, starting in my left glute and radiating down my leg. The intensity of pain has gone from a little troublesome to all encompassing. From all indications, I believe it to be sciatica. I have had a spinal xray which didn't show much and pt, which did not result in any lessening of the pain.

I have adjusted my workouts to low impact only, but nothing really seems to help. I'm going in for a steroid injection the 18th and hoping this offers some relief, but I feel like it's more of a bandaid than a solution to the problem.

Curious if any of my fellow Cathlete' s have suffered from this malady and can offer any tips, resolution, etc. TIA!

Last edited:
Sherry:

I wish I had something to offer you on this front, but alas, I have no experience or wisdom to offer. I can join your club in that I am dealing with my own recently diagnosed injury that will never go away and requires daily management, but I know nothing about sciatica. I hope someone chimes in for you with something useful to offer inspiration and hope. In the meanwhile, I wish you well and more days without pain ahead.

Clare

Hi Sherry, I've had my time with sciatica. I went to a chiropractor and that is what saved me. Of course, it does take time to feel relief because they are slowly making adjustments to loosen the grip or inflammation on that pinched sciatica nerve. Now I go monthly for a "tune-up" and have been pain free for a very, very long time. If I feel a little something, I call them up and get an adjustment and I'm back to being pain free. I also do specific sciatica stretches every single day (in the evening before bed). This is the link from FitnessBlender.com that I use for the stretches:
I hope this helps.

Hi,