Yoga Today

Shannon_B

Cathlete
Hi! :)

Yesterday was my first yoga today workout, and I liked it. I've never done yoga before so it was all new to me. Do any of you use yoga today? And if so, what are the greatest benefits that you've gotten out of it? I'm going to do another one tonight. So please and thank you!

Hi Shanon,

I learnt yoga in live class for over a year. I practise on my own now. Yoga is my favorite way to keep fit, but I do cross train with resistance training and cardio.

I have a larger collection of Yoga DVDs than any other type of exercise.

I dont use Yoga Today because bandwidth in India is too low for streaming video.

Some time ago, Yoga Today used to be available for download. I downloaded quite a few episodes and converted my favorite ones to DVD. I use these a lot.

I LOVE Yoga Today. Sarah Kline is one of my favorite teachers, including instructors on DVD. Adi Amar is pretty good too. Neesha spends too much time in most of her sessions talking versus actually doing yoga postures, otherwise she is pretty good.

The nice thing about Yoga Today is that not all episodes are Vinyasa or Power style (the style that is very popular in the West where you flow from pose to pose). Quite a few sessions are static-asana focused where you get into and hold a pose and perfect your alignment. This style of yoga is a GREAT way to learn because you actually learn the right way to do a pose. The right way isnt about how flexible you are but how you are able to align youself correct within your current range of motion without over stretching. I also like Yoga Today because the teachers have a background in various schools of yoga from Ashtanga to Kripalu to Kundalini and Anusara so you get a variety of influences from doing Yoga Today sessions. The sessions are beautifully shot and the cueing by all three instructors is excellent. I marvel at how they managed to film so many episodes and still maintain so much freshness/uniqueness/quality in each.