Yet another rotation question

KellieM

Hi,

Like so many others, I have been monitoring this forum for several months and found it extremely useful and informative.

I started using Cathe's tapes in May and was hooked right away. I have the 6 pack, Cardio Kicks, Circuit Max, MIS, MIC, BodyMax, Interval Max and just ordered Step Heat and Step Works. I had been using Kathy Smith and Jane Fonda tapes for years prior to trying Cathe's (and I don't plan to go back to them)and had never done advanced workouts until now.

My question is (finally) how do you know when it's time to change your rotation and do something different? See, I figured that I should do the Xpress set (which I love) until I got all the moves down pat and could really put maximum effort into my workouts. Also, I'm not very strong and although I did start with a 10 lb barbell, I'm up to 25 lbs now and feel that I'm just getting "into the groove".

I'm into my 7th rotation of the Xpress set and I'm really liking it. I'm still comfortably (?) sore the next day and feel I've done a good workout each day. Is it really time to change and move on to something else? How often should I change?

Thanks for listening! You've got a great web page!

Kellie
(an East Coast Canadian Cathe fan!)

My two cents

Ok, I always have to chime in with my two cents, so here I go!

What has worked really well for me has been to change my rotation completely or even just to "tweak" it a little every 4-6 weeks, depending on what I'm doing. Everybody is different and every person't body will respond differently. Some people adapt really quickly to what they're doing and do best to change to another rotation every 4 weeks, some people can change every 6-8 weeks and not hit a plateau. When you say you've completed your 7th rotaion I'm assuming that means you've been doing Xtrain (which I just got and absolutely love myself) for 7 weeks?