Working out after work?

lis1

Cathlete
Does anyone find that if they don't workout right after work (for me, this usually means going to the gym on the way home), they won't workout?

This happens to me ALL the time! I intend to workout, but once I relax, it's like murder getting up the motivation to exercise! It's tough for me to do 3 cardios a week since I graduated college, which isn't that much!

Any suggestions?
PS- I am NOT a morning exerciser either!

I've been doing my workouts after work for probably 5+ years, and it works well for me. I know if I came home, relaxed, had dinner, etc., and then tried to muster up motivation, it wouldn't happen. I think for me now, it's become such a part of my daily routine, that I don't have a problem with motivation. It's become automatic for me. On weekends, I exercise in the morning though. That way it's out of the way, and nothing else during the day can create a schedule conflict. I think each of us just have to find a time that is reasonable that we can committ to. Post-work is the only thing that works for me.

~ Nicole

I am EXACTLY like that, and always have been - no way can I work out in the morning and good luck if I've sat down and relaxed once I get home at night. Something about lack of momentum. I have found though that if I am feeling like I can never get off the couch to workout I just put in a workout tape and start it. Just hearing the music usually makes me want to get up and work out. Give that a try next time the earth's gravitational pull won't let you off the couch! I got that idea from something Karen Voight wrote and it totally works. She also recommends splashing cold water on your face too to kind of perk yourself up. I also have my day set up (purposely) so that I am not 'released' until I've worked out. My day isn't done until I do it.

Good luck!

ME Too!!!

Hi All!