Why no change yet?

Hi everyone, I'm new to this forum and new to Cathe's workouts so bear with me if this question has been repeatedly asked.

I have been exercising since August of 2002. I started with The Firm and just recently started doing Cathe's Intensity series. My goal isn't to lose tons of weight (maybe 10lbs) but to firm up and get in better overall shape. I usually exercise about 4-5 days per week with an equal mix of cardio and weights.

My question is why haven't I seen much of a change yet. I have noticed a little bit of muscle definition in my legs and arms but not much, if any, in my mid-section. I know I should be better at watching my food intake but it doesn't make sense to me that I wouldn't have shaped up more by now since I'm doing so much more exercise than I ever have before. If I was able to eat pretty much what I wanted before and hardly ever exercise, why haven't I slimmed down now that I've added the exercise with no other changes? In fact, today I feel like my pants are a little bit tighter than they were a month ago. It's not an encouraging feeling!!

Hopefully, someone will have some insight to this or at least be able to say I'm not alone. :-(

I tried that same thing. I thought I could just up my exercise a whole lot without making any diet changes and I would lose that 10 pounds that were bugging me. WRONG!!!! You have to make diet changes to shock your body into losing if you aren't real real overweight. Then the exercise is what helps you lose a little faster and maintain the weight loss. The diet changes i made were cutting back to 1500 calories a day; cutting out "white" carbohydtrates (bread, rice, pasta, potatoes) and substituting high fiber verggies, beans and fruits for those; and cutting all sugar. I keep fat at about 25% of total calories. This has allowed me to lose about 1/2 pound a week ((i'm 45 and my metabolism doesn't let me lose as fast as when I was younger. This same diet at age 30 lost me 1 1/2 pounds per week.)