Weird push-up "thing"

wutherhi

Cathlete
Hi All,

I have a question about a push-up modification I've happened on to, and I'm wondering if it will help or if I'm wasting my time.

To give you some background, I've been working out regularly for five years and can keep up with Cathe's strength tapes, for the most part, at the weights Cathe uses. One of the few things I can't do, however, is an on-the-toes push-up. I keep trying and trying, but I can barely do six knee push-ups before I hit failure.

I'm still big--5'10" and 187 pounds, and I was in pretty bad shape (okay, REALLY bad shape) when I started working out regularly for the first time at age 38. I'm also an ex-smoker, which still has a detrimental effect on my physical abilities. I expect that progress will be slower and more difficult for me based on all of these factors. But progress IS happening -- in leaps and bounds! I know I'll never have the strength or stamina of a 20-year-old, but I've made a 1000% improvement over the "old me." So, I just can't understand why a push-up is so darned difficult!

Here's what I discovered, though, about push-ups. If I hook my feet under something, like the bottom of a desk or the underneath of a heavy chair, I can do push-ups 'til the cows come home. For some reason that leverage makes large numbers of push-ups possible for me. I have two questions about this:

1. Physically, why does this make a difference?

2. If I do push-ups this way for a while, will I gain strength that will allow me to do more knee push-ups and eventually work up to real on-the-toes push-ups, or, am I just wasting my time by bringing other muscles to the rescue?

Thanks for any help you can give me,
Shari

RE: Weird push-up

Veeeeery interesting. But sorry, I have no clue why this helps. It doesnt seem to be cheating though. I have a reasonably competent background in science and this is a mystery to me. Sorry, Shari.

heres a guess: