VHS "free shipping" negated with a DVD purchase? Is thi...

beachgerrrl

Cathlete
Hi

I'm new here. I ordered several dvd's the other day. This is my first time trying Cathe's programs (step aerobics). I ordered them after reading very positive "reviews" about them on videofitness.com.

I decided to order 2 more dvd's (Low Max and the Cardio Hits dvds) and 4 VHS tapes (to take advantage of the "buy 4, get 1 free, plus take $15 Off" special.

I was startled to find out that because I was ordering the "2 DVDs", the "free shipping" offer was negated. ;( This came out to a "$20 PLUS" difference in my total, which just made no sense to me (the shipping charge was $19+). After going over and over this several times with the Customer Service rep, I decided to not purchase the 2 dvds, as it basically washed out the "get 1 Free" offer that hooked me into buying the 4 VHS tapes in the first place.

From a marketing standpoint, this doesn't make sense to me. I'm being penalized basically for "wanting to buy MORE 'regular priced' dvds". ?

Is this correct? Or is there a misunderstanding here? I really wanted those 2 other DVDs.

Any input is much appreciated. Thanks.

RE: VHS

Yeah, I bought a whole bunch of VHS of the older stuff since it was so much cheaper with the free shipping and the free video. I figured also that I would be spending $30.00 for two videos instead of $45.00 for the DVD two workout combos. VHS players will around for a long time since so many people have invested so much money in their videos. I don't really care if the quality of the picture or sound isn't as great, and I can forward to places. I don't care so much to mix and match. If I want to order DVD's and videos, I will just have to order them separately. But I know what you mean, it is a hassle.