To Cathe or anyone: doing 50 reps of a single exercise ??

rgs424

Cathlete
I have a friend who told me that at the gym, he will do 50 reps of the same exercise. Like 50 reps of a bicep curl, or 50 reps of a leg press. Is there ANY advantage to doing that ? I would imagine that it would actually work against you to some degree. He said he was 'strength training'. I have just never heard of that, but then again I am no expert is weight lifting.

Any thoughts would be appreciated !!

THANK YOU !!!!!!!!!!!!

I'm assuming you mean 50 reps per set? If so... If he really means the actual definition of “strength training” the answer is basically no. With strength training you need to use a weight in the 80% to 90% of your 1RM range. This means you should be using a weight that you can only lift with good form about 6 reps or less. His workout is actually mainly a muscle endurance workout, but 50 reps is lot more reps than is necessary. Usually for a muscle endurance workout we want reps in the range of 15-20 reps. Light weights simply will not cause enough or the right type of muscle fibers to be activated to help improve one’s strength to any great degree. One of our goals of STS is to educate people on what a proper weight is for the goal they’re trying to achieve. I’ve posted below some information from our STS-FAQ that is closely related to your question: