Switching jobs without experience - possible?

jillybean

Cathlete
I have only had 3 jobs my entire life: cashier/accountant for a grocery store, accountant for a grocery wholesaler, and now admin for a construction company. I realize that I am much too ADD and unorganized to be a numbers cruncher/paper pusher. I have nothing but admiration for those who stay focused and orderly enough to do these kinds of job well as I am not one of you. I would love to switch gears and do something creative, however, I have no schooling or experience to back up this desire. Suggestions?

My friend said I should do a 'skills resume' rather than an 'experience resume', but I just kind of got a fogged over look and began talking about candy. There goes that ADD again...

Hi Jillybean,

I think you can totally switch jobs even if you have no experience. I'm still in college, and I really think that the majority of skills are learned on the job. Everyone has to start somewhere, and I'm sure you know it is just a matter of getting your foot in the door. If you want to learn about a different profession, read about it, ask other people about it, etc. Do you have any idea what type of creativity you want to use- art, music, writing, design, something to that effect?

Gina

Hey, Beans! You know me well, and you know that after about 10 years in various facets of real estate I totally switched over to become a paralegal, and after some excellent (and expensive) training and a fairly humiliating job search, got the job of still my dreams almost 5 years ago.