Running then getting headaches

karenvictoria

Cathlete
I have been running for a few years and every time I get ready to train for anything I seem to get a headaches 4 or so hours after my run. I have done a handful of 5k's and a 10 miler in the past. If I run 2-4 miles I never get a headache but speed intervals or long runs I get headaches. I know it's hot but I made sure I drake enough water yesterday. I don't get it. I can do any other cardio ( cathe, eliptical or light running and nothing). I'm training for a half marathon and today I ran speed intervals. I drank a mix of water and diluted gatorade during the run and then after had a smoothie. Thought I was doing good. Then around 12:30 about 4 hours later I have a slight headache. Should I have had a smoothie and then breakfast an hour after that as well or did I do something wrong by having the smoothie and then waiting until 12:30 for lunch. I know it's somthing as far as lack of nutriotion and running. I trained for a 10 miler about two years ago and I had the same problem about 6 weeks in the beginning of training and then never again did I have them during the last weeks of traning or the race itself. Any help would greatly be apprecitaed. I want to fix this now since this is my first week of training and before my long run this weekend.
karen

www.picturetrail.com/karenvictoria

I'm no expert by any means...However with that said, I have heard of exhertion headaches and maybe that is what you are experiencing??? When I first started lifting weights especially upper body, I would get an awful headache approximately an hour later. I researched it online (my favorite thing to do) :) and read about proper breathing when lifting. I always try to incorperate the proper breathing now and have not had one since. Maybe you could research that and see if it sounds similiar to what you are experiencing. Hope that helps!

Jen