Pessimistic people

pianoann

Cathlete
Hi, everyone! I've posted a few times here but wanted some people's opinion about people's comments at work. I'm 27, 5'5'', 114 pounds and take my fitness very seriously. I am a nurse and work nights so it's sometimes a challenge to find the time and would be very easy to blow off! Well, my husband and I are thinking about starting family this year, and many of the people at work comment on how their stomach never went back to the way it was, mine will never be flat again, I will have excess skin that won't go away, everyone they know that breastfed got "National Geographic boobs," no matter how hard I work out my body will never look the same without surgery. My husband is very against cosmetic surgery, so I know that it is probably not going to be an option for me. Not that I'm vain, but I am a little nervous that I have worked so hard for it all to go away and never return! I know that models and actresses have gotten their bodies back, but I'm not sure if it's from surgery or hard work. I am prepared to work hard, but scared of the reflection that I will see in the mirror after it's all done. And I just found out that I have the Factor V Leiden gene mutation, so my blood is more likely to clot, and I'm hoping that I don't have to go on bedrest or anything during my preganancies! Any opinions would be appreciated! Thanks!

I think the title of your post was very fitting. There is no way that these "people" know what your body will look like after a pregnancy; it is hogwash! With that said, your body may never be the same and subtle changes may occur, but there is no reason that your body will immediately go down hill. Silly! I am sure that others from this forum will agree with me when I say a pregnancy does not mean that all of your hard work is wasted.

Good Luck!