Over exertion during exercise?

ATC1986

Cathlete
Is it really a bad thing when 10 minutes after a workout I'm light headed? After my workout this morning, I got light headed in the shower. Wondering if it is over exertion or nutrition related. Any input?

Hi -
I'm certainly not a doctor , but I've had some experience with swings in my blood pressure [ mostly into the low end ] so I've also felt light headed after working out at times , but this is just one of many possibilities . Do you have a way to check your BP at home ? I really think it's good to know your blood pressure ranges especially when you max your heart rate out with exercise on a regular basis . Needless to say , if this happens to you with any regularity , please have it checked out !

Just wanted to say , I'm a newbie , and it's so nice to meet you and all of the other ladies on this forum !

Hope this helps -
Kate

This has happened to me and I have been thoroughly checked out by a dr. With an EKG, holter monitor, heart sonogram and other things I am sure I cannot remember :confused: anyway, I am perfectly healthy.

Whenever this has happened to me, I'd attributed it to over-reaching (see Cathe's current article on this) as well as needing to eat and/or needing to hydrate. Also, my doctor told me to lay down and take it easy and relax until it passes.

All this being said, if it happens again or with regularity I would definitely see your doctor...but as in my case, it is very rare and not serious.

Blessings

I had this happen to me about 2 weeks ago. I went for an evening run and it was really hot. I was properly hydrated but I missed an afternoon snack. The first half of the run went well but I tanked on the second half. I got home and took a shower. When I got out of the shower I got light headed. Since I was properly hydrated, I figured it had to be my missed snack.

Last week I did the exact same thing except I ate something before my run and I felt good.