New ways to eat veggies and legumes...

Hello everyone! This is my first time posting. I have been seriously exercising for about 1.5 years now. I started working out to Cathe after hearing how advanced her workouts are. Well, like I always do, I jumped in and got a lot of the many advanced workouts (Imax 3, Drill Max, Body Max 2). WOW...they just about killed my knees (knee problems and never used a step before). x( Well, I started over with the beginner rotation and things are going really well (hard to hear about the new dvd and KNOW I am not up for it :( ). My knees are getting much stronger!

Anyway...I have been eating pretty well since last fall (after buying Eat to Live by Dr. Fuhrman). I eat a whole lot of fruits (~7 servings a day), drink a lot of water, limit my sugar, limit my caffeine (except for coffee in the morning to rev me up for workouts and sits). I eat enough nuts and definitely get enough fiber (from whole grains and fruit).

I barely eat any animal products (just a few slices of turkey and 1/2 cup milk with my oatmeal). I'm not getting enough protein and want to get it, along with necessary phytochemicals, from increasing my veggie intake.

I usually have one salad a day (romaine lettuce, most nutrient dense). I would like to increase to 2, but I get so board of salads!!! Any suggestions for spicing things up without adding delicious fats?

I also eat raws veggies (carrots, snow peas, celery) with some hummus. As far as cooked vegetables, I really like chinese cuisine (nice firm vegetables, lots of soy sauce, with brown rice). The veggies and rice are fine; it's the sauce that's the problem. Also, I found that these types of dishes do not heat up well after being refrigerated (problem because I don't have time to cook everyday). Again, any suggestions?

Oh yes...I love edamame!

Swayze