Need some advice on yoga and pilates...

sweaty1

Hi! I lurk here a lot and post very occasionally; but I really appreciate your insights and conversations.

I have been working out with Cathe for well over 10 years and into fitness for 20. It is part of my life and I am committed to it...it makes my life so great. BUT; I have all of a sudden become very injury prone; developed some beginning arthritis, rotator cuff problems, plantar injury in my foot and back and neck issues. I can't tell you why all of a sudden and working out at the level of Cathe is not working for me; even after weeks (like 4) of complete rest. I am doing a lot of physical therapy, chirpractic, you name it.

So...I need to do yoga and pilates for now. I am a Cathe workout freak and those are the types of workouts I prefer. But, I believe I can benefit from pilates and yoga right now and still try to maintain my fitness level.

Can you give me any advice on home workouts for yoga and pilates to use? I am familiar with the basics so I believe I can do intermediate and advanced. I would like power yoga I think as I am pretty drawn to a more athletic style; but I certainly wouldn't mind some relaxing stuff that makes me sweat as well! Any help is appreciated (I was sooo looking forward to STS; and I will buy it; but I think it will be a good long time before I can get them done!)
thanks so much for your time...

Becky

Becky,

I dont do pilates.

Here are some suggestions for yoga.

a. Sweaty, strength building yoga with focus on flexibility and balance as well:
- Shiva Rea - Yoga Shakti
This DVD has two tough yoga workoits and one more relaxing lunar flow segment. It is visually breathtaking. If you are intermediate, you should be able to do it all through. Shiva's yoga has technique, it has soul, she is completely non-woo woo and gives a great workout.

- Rodney Yee - Power Yoga Total body