Need Help.....

tboman

Hi everyone.
I often come here to get cheered up when feeling down. I was hoping you guys could give me some thoughts on drinking alcohol and if it is my worst enemy while trying to lose weight. I have been doing step tapes 2-5 times a week for 2 months. I have cleaned up my eating a little. I thought I would lose a few pounds but have not. I feel like I have lost inches - not much though. I am trying to figure out why and I think it is because I drink. Some weeks I may have 4-6 over a weekend and some weeks 2-3 an night for 4 nights. I do try to eat less when I drink. Could this be a bigger culprint than I realize. All my friends drink - not much to do around town. Next week I will start adding weight training 2 days a week. I am aiming for 4 fruits and 4 veggies a day. I'm 5'2 and 150. Most people wouldn't think 150. I have muscular legs (I think) covered with fat (pear shape). I think I have realistic goal of 125-130. The 150 will not budge..... I would love some words of wisdom.
Thanks in advance,
Tracy

Alcohol does have quite a few calories. For each gram of alcohol you consume, it has 7 calories. That is almost as much as a gram of fat, which has 9. So that may well be your downfall. Try cutting down of the alcohol, like no more than 2 a night.

The weight training will also help by gaining muscle that durns more calories. How much cardio work are you doing? That's importaint to by burning the fat you already have.
Let us know how you're doing.

Drinking 2-3 glasses a night a few nights a week is a lot of alcohol for someone that's trying to lose weight. Alcohol is a lot of empty calories. Try cutting your consumption down to just weekends. It can make all the difference in the world!

GettingFit!