Neck strengthening execises?

cathe4me2

Cathlete
Hi Cathe,
Could you recommend some exercises to strengthen the neck and shoulder area? We have found that my frequent (2-3 x per week)migraines are coming from my neck. I see a chiropractor once a week. Often by the time I get home my neck is "out" again. I have been doing your workouts for close to 10 years. Apparently my neck is still a weak area. I would appreciate any advice and thoughts of what to do to help me stay in place longer. Thank you so much.

I also wanted to tell you how much I love love love your new circuit series. The premixes are just awesome. I wish you could get some kind of an award for these. You did a fabulous job on these.

I would like to know the same. Just this week it came to my attention the need for greater strength and flexibility in my cervical spine. I started using the band to help - wrap the band around my head and 'pull' my head (using neck muscles) in the opposite direction. I used to do something similar at the gym.

Any information would be great!

I'm not Cathe, but ne tip is to keep your tongue on the roof of your mouth when doing ab work. This seems to help with neck tension. Also, roll up a hand towel and use it for support when you need it. Make a very conscious effort not to pull on your neck with your hands.

>I started using the band to help - wrap the
>band around my head and 'pull' my head (using neck muscles) in
>the opposite direction. I used to do something similar at the
>gym.

You can do a similar exercise using isometric tension (push your head against your hand as your hand resists, so there is no movement) or using a small pliable ball for resistance.