middle age fat

ChicagoJen

Cathlete
Hi Cathe,

I've been using your videos/DVDs for the last 10 years with excellent results, (and thank you so much for creating such high quality workouts!!!)

Over the last couple years, I've noticed that all though I basically eat the same as I always have and continue to work out 5-6 days per week (running, your videos, swimming,interval training,always changing activities), I'm not making much progress. I've even started working out 1.5 hours per session compared to my usual hour, yet I can't seem to get rid of the fatty deposits on my upper thighs and stomach. My diet is quite clean with one cheat day on the weekend.

Perhaps it's that I am now thirty and my metabolism is changing. I'm not sure, but I'm beginning to get discouraged. Is this just what happens? I refuse to give in, darn it! }(

I'm 5'8" and roughly 125 lbs, definitely pear-shaped.

Any advice, Cathe?
Thank you for your infinite wisdom! :7

Take care,
Jen

Jen,

I'm certainly not Cathe but felt compelled to write.

I take exception to you referring to 30 as middle age. You are just a wee pup. My daughter just turned 29, so if she's middle age, what am I?

Gee, I gotta think about that one... Over the hill perhaps.

BTW, at 5'8" and 126 lbs, I can't imagine where you have any fat!!!

Candi,

You crack me up! :D I love reading your posts, btw!
Yea, I know 30 isn't middle age, really, but there is definitely a difference in my metabolism. My clothes aren't fitting the same and it's driving me crazy. }(

Take care!
xo,
Jen

I've noticed my metabolism starting to slow within the past year at age 35.... ugh. Will be interesting to hear from Cathe.:+

jen, wow you must look fabulous, I am 5' 8 1/2" and I don't weigh no 125, but am pretty pleased that my size 10's are getting bigger.

You are just a kid, if you think it is slowing down now, wait until you hit 47, IT IS A WAR, WHICH I WILL NOT LOSE THANKS TO CATHE.

I bet you look great, I can't wait for Cathe's reply.