Calories Vs. Carbs

Ciara

I did Atkins for a year and I lost 40lbs on it. I am now starting to exercise more and I really don't want to do low carbs anymore. Does anybody know if I do 1600 calorie diet keeping some things low carb that I can maintain my current weight and maybe lose 15 more pounds? I workout regularly doing Cardio,stregth training and ab work.

Bottom line is : what is better Low carbs or Low Calorie?

Please help
Ciara :-(

I'm not an expert - but I think Low Carb is dangerous. I think you need to eat a clean diet, free of sugar, fat and junk. Counting calories is good but watch the fat and the sugar as well. Drink lots of water, eat fruit, veges - lean meats and yes, carbs - potatoes, brown rice or brown breads. I worry about the long term effcts of low carb diets and I think it could end up hurting people in the long run. I complement your success and think the next step should be eating clean - they way we were taught in school as youngsters.

Carbohydrates and protein only have 4 calories per gram, whereas fat has 9 calories per gram (and alcohol has 7).

I believe in a good balance of carbohydrate (whole foods, not white flour or sugar), protein and good fats.

Recently, someone posted an article at videofitness.com about a study that showed that populations that eat the most carbohydrates are the leanest (this is healthy carbs, not processed food).

I think it's intersting that Cathe has stated, I believe, that she does a 40-30-30 diet(carbs-protein-fat) and she looks awesome. Obviously you don't need one of these latest fad diets, like Atkins, to look great and be in great shape. Everything in moderation.
T.

I think the answer depends on the individual. I did low fat for years, but after I hit 30 it just didn't work for me anymore, although my lifestyle & fitness routine stayed the same. Everyone's body chemistry is different & reacts to different diets. You have to experiment & see what works best for you.