Any lawyers out there

luprisi

Cathlete
I got a new job and I would have to relocate to another state, now they will pay me a moving allowance in the amount of $5,000 upon signing of the contract. I have some questions though, Read the next paragrah,

Employer shall pay employee a moving allowance in the amount of $5,000 upon the signing of this contract. Employee shall document to Employer actual moving expenses for federal tax purposes prior to year end.

Does that means that if I spend less than $5,000, they will not give the $5000, but the actual amount that I spent??

I am debating between driving my car and my husband's. I wanted to drive to save some money, but if they will pay me only what I spen, it does'nt make any sense. I might as well send it so I can get my money back

What do you think?

I'm not a lawyer, but I went through a relocation 2 years ago, and will be going through this same thing shortly as I am negotiating a possible relocation and the new office is also in another state... I believe the premise of the moving allowance is that you get the $5k up front and you will use that money to move. It has been my experience, and things could have changed, but they consider the difference of what you receive as an allowance vs. what you have spent as income... make sense? for example... you get the $5K, but it only costs you a total of $3K to move, the $3K is considered an expense, and you would be taxed federal income tax on the difference, or the $2K because it is money to you and would be considered a bonus/income and therefore taxable. I believe it will have something to do with how the company will recognize the expense on their tax returns as well, and for this reason they will ask you to submit receipts for what you spent. Some companies use this method vs. paying a 3rd party to negotiate moving packages. They have more control on how much is spent and know the total financial impact to their bottom line right up front.