What's the best way to build cardio endurance?

Annabell

I can lift heavy weights till the cows come home, but I'm really out of shape cardio wise. :O( I can not get through any of the CTX cardio's without modifying and taking breaks. I wouldn't dare tackle CM or IM! What is the best way to improve upon this? Should I push myself as much as I can until I have to stop? I’ve been doing Leslie Sansone’s WTP’s 4x’s a week for the last four months, but I really need to move on. I still have a lot of body fat.

Thanks a bunch!
Anna

(PS – Am I spelling cardio correctly? It keeps coming up on my spell-checker.)

[font size="1" color="#FF0000"]LAST EDITED ON Jul-25-02 AT 01:51PM (Est)[/font][p]I went from walking to Cathe 2-1/2 years ago, and it's a big change!

1. Since you have the CTX tapes, I'd say do the Kickbox tape in it's entirety since it's the least strenuous.

2. The cardio session you could do a Leslie tape.

3. Next session, you could do part of the 10-10-10 tape, only the warm up, kickbox part and the hilo part, then do 10 minutes of the end of a Leslie tape.

For the step tapes (or portions) use a 4" step, or do them without a step at first. Keep your movements low. Don't try to do a lot of jumping. Work yourself into them.

Just give yourself time. Keep in mind these are advanced tapes! Advanced Leslie is not like Advanced Cathe!

Hi! Another thing you might try is interval training--it's a great way to increase cardiovascular endurance.

I'm sure IMax seems daunting to you, but just use a 4" platform like honeybunch suggested, and modify, modify, modify! Even if you start with one or two intervals then increase gradually, you will see a slow but sure improvement.

You can also try intervals like walking with short bursts of jogging, or biking at a steady pace with an occasional "push" here and there. You can do intervals with many forms of exercise, and I found it to be incredibly effective for me when I was training for a 10K road race.

Good luck! :)